KVOST SchauFenster 20/21

We are delighted to present our new exhibition series SchauFenster which presents artworks in the window front of KVOST. The exhibition will be on view daily from 2 pm to 10 pm.

With works by Vikenti Komitski, Nina Kurtela and Honorata Martin, curated by Nathalie Hoyos and Rainald Schumacher.

 

Honorata Martin, The World Looks so Much Better from Above , 2015
1’43” video

 

In accordance with KVOST’s substantive orientation, the first SchauFenster exhibition KVOST presents works by three artists stemming from eastern Europe: Nina Kurtela (*1981 in Zagreb, Croatia), Honorata Martin (*1984 in Gdansk, Poland) and Vikenti Komitski (*1983 in Sofia, Bulgaria).

The two video pieces and one neon work each point to the fragility of life. Addressing the fear of losing the sense of space and time, of feeling forlorn in a rapidly changing environment without the capability of intervening. Worrying about things coming to an end or endlessly continuing. Perpetually trapped in a repetitive loop. Floating over an abyss, yet sustained by the assurance of supporting friends.

Created before the Covid 19 pandemic, the works raise fundamental questions of existence and being-in-the-world. Topics that belong in a window display, to be reflected and apprehended with a new sensitivity despite their frightening actuality.

In her radical performances consciously exposes herself to fears and borderline experiences. The tragic loss of a friend became the subject of one of her performative actions in 2015 during which she floated in ice-cold water, wearing her friends’ blouse, up until the “very last moment”. SchauFenster presents her video work The World Looks so Much Better from Above from the same year. It, too, refers back to the death of a friend who fell from a mountain. In the video Honrata Martin is standing on the roof of a high-rise building, leaning over the edge while being held back only by her partner, who is grasping her pony tail.

„Or she dreams that she’s standing on the roof. Or maybe she’s actually standing there? Znojek is holding her ponytail. And again, she’s having this recurring fantasy that her hair slips out of his hand and that’s it. Just like that.“ Anna Mituś
Honorata Martin, The World Looks so Much Better from Above , 2015
video still (1’43” video)

 

Dance, choreography and performance are at the centre of Nina Kurtela’s artistic work Transformance. Created in 2010, the time-lapse video documents a performance that took place over the span of five months at Uferstudios in Berlin-Wedding, formerly a workshop for Berlin’s public transportation network. During this time the space was reconstructed into studios for contemporary dance. The artist remains almost motionless in the spot where the future stage is being built while surrounded by the day-to-day business of a construction site. Her dance is reduced to immobility. The dancer remains still while the world around her continues to turn.

Nina Kurtela, Transformance, 2010
video still, (5’59” min video)

 

The two videos are supplemented by the neon work The End of the Circle, created in 2019 by Vikenti Komitski who lives in Berlin. „To every circle there is an end’“ this ambiguous sentence is formed by neon letters arranged in a circle. Only the future will show which cycle will come to an end, which one will start over again, maybe taking a different course this time.

Vikenti Komitski, The End of The Circle, 2019, Neon, diameter 170 cm
Courtesy: Vikenti Komitski and Galerie Fabienne Levy, Lausanne

 

Honorata Martin
*1984 in Gdansk, lives in Gdansk, Poland.
She studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Gdansk. 2015 she received the prize of the city of Gdansk for young artists as well as the main prize of the Splendor Gedensis. In 2017 she received the Views-Deutsche Bank Award for polish art.
Selected works:
“Polish Hospitality” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Wroclaw
“Late Polishness, Forms of National Identity after 1989” – Ujazdowski Castle, Warschau ‘Bones of all Men’ – Centre of Contemporary Art Znaki Czasu, Torun

Nina Kurtela
*1981 in Zagreb, lives in Zagreb, Croatia.
She studies dance, context and choreography at HZT and the University of Arts in Berlin and fine arts at the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb.
Her works have been presented at exhibitions and dance festivals:
“Productive work – What is it supposed to be?” – Freiraum Museumsquartier, Vienna
“Japanese Media Art Festival Award” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo
“Group Show, The Matinée” – La BF15, La Biennale de la Danse, Lyon
“Buen Vivir” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb
“Tanz Im August” – Berlin

Vikenti Komitski
*1983 in Sofia, Bulgaria, lives in Berlin.
He studied sculpture at the Academy of Fine arts in Sofia.
Selected exhibitions:
„White Noise: Work Presentation of Artists in Residence 01/2019“ – Bundeskanzleramt Vienna
“World at a Crossroads” – National Gallery of Iceland, Reykjavik
“Photo I Photo You” – Calvert 22, London
“Bulgaria – Actual Scene” – Ludwig Museum, Coblenz

KVOST SchauFenster 20/21

Die neue Ausstellungsreihe SchauFenster präsentiert Werke von Künstler*innen in der Fensterfront des KVOST. Die Ausstellung ist täglich von 14 – 22 Uhr zu sehen sein.

Mit Arbeiten von Vikenti Komitski, Nina Kurtela und Honorata Martin, kuratiert von Nathalie Hoyos und Rainald Schumacher.

 

 

Honorata Martin, The World Looks so Much Better from Above , 2015
1’43” video

 

KVOST präsentiert in der ersten SchauFenster Ausstellung drei Werke von zwei Künstlerinnen, Nina Kurtela (*1981 in Zagreb, Kroatien), Honorata Martin (*1984 in Gdansk, Polen), und einem Künstler, Vikenti Komitski (*1983 in Sofia, Bulgarien), KünstlerInnen deren Herkunft entsprechend der Ausrichtung des Kunstverein Ost in Osteuropa liegt.

Die Werke, zwei Videoarbeiten und eine Neonarbeit, weisen auf die Zerbrechlichkeit des Lebens hin. Sie sprechen von Ängsten des Verlusts von dem Gefühl für Raum und Zeit, von unserer Verlorenheit in einer sich rasant verändernden Welt, ohne Möglichkeit eingreifen zu können. Von der Sehnsucht, gehalten und aufgefangen zu werden. Von der Sorge, dass etwas zu Ende gehen könnte oder dass etwas nie ein Ende finden könnte, dass wir gefangen sind in einer endlosen Schleife immer wiederkehrender Wiederholungen. Sie schaffen Bilder für die Situation über einem Abgrund zu schweben, von der Zuversicht gestützt, dass Freunde und Freundinnen Halt bieten.

Die Werke sind vor der Covid 19 Pandemie entstanden. Sie haben schon zur Zeit ihrer Entstehung grundlegende Fragen zur Existenz und zu unserem Dasein auf der Welt formuliert. Themen, die in ein Schaufenster gehören, die reflektiert werden sollten, die gerade in der jetzigen Zeit mit einer neuen Sensibilität wahrgenommen werden können, obwohl sie von einer beängstigenden Aktualität sind und alle betreffen.

Honorata Martin setzt sich in radikalen Performances bewusst Grenzerfahrungen und Ängsten aus. Den tragischen Verlust einer Freundin hat sie 2015 in einer performativen Aktion verarbeitet. Mit einer Bluse der Freundin bekleidet trieb sie in eiskaltem Wasser bis zu einem „allerletzten Moment“. Im SchauFenster wird die Videoperformance The World Looks so Much Better from Above, aus dem gleichen Jahr präsentiert. Auch sie nimmt Bezug auf den Tod eines Freundes, der im Gebirge abgestürzt ist. Honrata Martin steht auf dem Dach eines Hochhauses, lehnt sich über den Abgrund und wird von ihrem Partner Michał Znojek nur an ihrem Pferdeschwanz gehalten.

Oder träumt sie, dass sie auf dem Dach steht. Oder steht sie doch wirklich dort? Znojek hält ihren Pferdeschwanz. Und wieder, hat sie diese wiederkehrende Vorstellung, dass ihr Haar aus seiner Hand rutscht und das ist es dann. Einfach so.“ Anna Mituś


Honorata Martin, The World Looks so Much Better from Above , 2015
video still, 1’43” video

 

Tanz, Choreografie und Performance stehen im Zentrum der künstlerischen Arbeit von Nina Kurtela. Transformance von 2010 dokumentiert im Zeitraffer eine über fünfmonatige Performance, in der die Künstlerin Tag für Tag in den Uferstudios in Wedding, den ehemaligen Werkstätten der BVG, verbrachte, während diese zu einem Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz umgebaut wurden. Die Künstlerin steht nahezu bewegungslos am Ort der zukünftigen Bühne, um sie herum spielt sich der Alltag einer Baustelle ab. Der Tanz ist reduziert auf Bewegungslosigkeit. Die Tänzerin verharrt in Ruhe, die Welt dreht sich weiter.

Nina Kurtela, Transformance, 2010
video still, 5’59” min video

 

Die Neon Arbeit The End of the Circle aus dem Jahre 2019 von Vikenti Komitski, der in Berlin lebt, ergänzt die beiden Videos. „To every circle there is an end’“ dieser mehrdeutige Satz lässt sich aus den Neonbuchstaben in Kreisform herauslesen. Welcher Kreislauf zu einem Ende kommen wird, welcher Kreislauf einfach wieder von vorne beginnt, aber vielleicht ganz anders verlaufen wird, das wird und kann nur die Zukunft zeigen.

Vikenti Komitski, The End of The Circle, 2019, Neon, Durchmesser 170 cm
Courtesy: Vikenti Komitski und Galerie Fabienne Levy, Lausanne

 

Honorata Martin
*1984 in Gdansk, lebt in Gdansk, Polen.
Sie studierte Malerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Gdansk. 2015 erhielt sie den Preis der Stadt Gdansk für junge Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie den Hauptpreis des Splendor Gedensis. 2017 erhielt sie den “Views – Deutschen Bank Award für polnische Kunst”. Werke wurden unter anderem präsentiert:
“Polish Hospitality” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Wroclaw
“Late Polishness, Forms of National Identity after 1989” – Ujazdowski Castle, Warschau “Bones of all Men” – Centre of Contemporary Art Znaki Czasu, Torun

Nina Kurtela
*1981 in Zagreb, lebt in Zagreb, Kroatien.
Sie studierte Tanz, Kontext und Choreographie an der HZT, Universität der Künste Berlin und bildende Kunst an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Zagreb.
Ihre Werke wurden in Ausstellungen und Tanzfestivals präsentiert:
“Productive work – What is it supposed to be?” – Freiraum Museumsquartier, Wien
“Japanese Media Art Festival Award” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokio
“Group Show, The Matinée” – La BF15, La Biennale de la Danse, Lyon
“Buen Vivir” – Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb
“Tanz Im August” – Berlin

Vikenti Komitski
*1983 in Sofia, Bulgarien, lebt in Berlin.
Er studierte an der Akademie der Künste in Sofia Skulptur.
Ausstellungsbeteiligungen unter anderem:
„White Noise: Work Presentation of Artists in Residence 01/2019“ – Bundeskanzleramt Wien
“World at a Crossroads” – National Gallery of Iceland, Reykjavik
“Photo I Photo You” – Calvert 22, London
“Bulgaria – Actual Scene” – Ludwig Museum, Koblenz