Claus Michaletz Preis

In memory of the publisher and founder of the Secco Pontanova Foundation, Claus Michaletz, a prize of 10,000 euros is awarded to artists from Eastern Europe.

The prize is awarded once a year and is coupled to the KVOST scholarship. The full amount of the prize money is at the free disposal of the scholarship holders.

In addition to the already established KVOST scholarship – an Artist in Residency in Berlin followed by a solo exhibition at KVOST – the launch of the Claus Michaletz Preis provides further, sustainable support for the artists.

In 2022 the recipient of the Claus Michaletz Preis is Ukrainian artist Olena Pronkina, holder of this year’s KVOST scholarship. The award ceremony will be held at Pronkina’s exhibition opening at KVOST on September 14, 2022 at 7pm.

Claus Michaletz and the Secco Pontanova Foundation
In 2003, publisher Claus Michaletz founded the Secco Pontanova Foundation to promote science, art and culture. Its aim is to encourage the exchange between Germany and the Eastern European states as well as the Baltic region and Southeastern European states.

The foundation is committed to intensifying cultural transfer and strengthen ties between these countries. A bridge-building that enables the individual states to explore common roots and values of a supranational knowledge and cultural community – using the unifying language of art.

The “Claus Michaletz Prize for Eastern European Art” supports artists from Eastern Europe in memory of its generous, free-spirited founder Claus Michaletz.

The Claus Michaletz Preis was first awarded to Jānis Šneiders in 2020 as part of the POSITIONS Berlin Art Fair, followed by Laura Pold in 2021.

Claus Michaletz was born in 1933 in the Upper Silesian town of Gleiwitz (now Gliwice, Poland) and grew up in Breslau until 1945. After graduating from high school in West Germany, he completed an apprenticeship as a bookseller at Herder Verlag in Freiburg. Later he studied economics and social sciences.

During and after his studies, Michaletz worked at Herder Verlag in Freiburg, most recently as commercial director. He later moved to Berlin as publishing director at the scientific publisher Springer, where he subsequently became managing partner.

Claus Michaletz Preis

In Gedenken an den Verleger und Gründer der Secco Pontanova Stiftung, Claus Michaletz, wird ein mit 10.000 Euro dotierter Preis an Künstler:innen aus Osteuropa vergeben.

Der Preis wird einmal im Jahr ausgelobt und ist an das KVOST Stipendium gekoppelt. Das Preisgeld steht den Stipendiat:innen in voller Höhe zur freien Verfügung.

Zusammen mit dem bereits etablierten KVOST Stipendium – eine Artist in Residency in Berlin mit anschließender Einzelausstellung im KVOST – ermöglicht die Vergabe des Claus Michaletz Preis eine weitergehende, nachhaltige Förderung der Künstler:innen.

2022 geht der Claus Michaletz Preis an die ukrainische Künstlerin Olena Pronkina, die diesjährige KVOST Stipendiatin. Die Verleihung findet im Rahmen ihrer Ausstellungseröffnung im KVOST am 14. September 2022 um 19 Uhr statt.

Claus Michaletz und die Secco Pontanova Stiftung
2003 gründete der Verleger Claus Michaletz die Secco Pontanova Stiftung, deren Anliegen die Förderung von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Kultur ist. Im Mittelpunkt steht der Austausch zwischen Deutschland und den osteuropäischen Staaten sowie den baltischen und südosteuropäischen Staaten.

Ziel der Stiftung ist die Intensivierung des kulturellen Transfers und die Festigung der Bindungen zwischen diesen Ländern. Ein Brückenschlag, der es den einzelnen Staaten ermöglicht, gemeinsame Wurzeln und Werte einer supranationalen Wissens- und Kulturgemeinschaft zu erforschen – in der völkerverbindenden Sprache der Kunst.

Der „Claus Michaletz Preis für osteuropäische Kunst“ fördert Künstler:innen aus Osteuropa in Gedenken an den großzügigen, freigeistigen Stifter Claus Michaletz.

Der Claus Michaletz Preis wurde erstmals 2020 im Rahmen der POSITIONS Berlin Art Fair an Jānis Šneiders verliehen, 2021 folgte Laura Pold.

Claus Michaletz wurde 1933 in der oberschlesischen Stadt Gleiwitz (heute Gliwice, Polen) geboren und wuchs bis 1945 in Breslau auf. Nach seinem Abitur in Westdeutschland absolvierte er eine Buchhändlerlehre im Freiburger Herder Verlag. Anschließend studierte er Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Während und nach seines Studiums arbeitete Michaletz beim Freiburger Herder Verlag, zuletzt als kaufmännischer Direktor. Später wechselte er als Verlagsdirektor zum Wissenschaftsverlag Springer nach Berlin, bei dem er geschäftsführender Gesellschafter wurde.

2003 gegründete er die Secco Pontanova Stiftung, die seit seinem Tod im Jahr 2018 unter dem Vorstandsvorsitz von Dr. Silke Manske, die eine langjährige Freundschaft mit dem Stifter verbindet, in dessen Geiste fortgeführt wird.